156th Annual Sports Day of Boys’ High School (BHS) and College

Saint George’s (Red) House clinched the prestigious Athletic Shield at the 156th Annual Sports Day of Boys’ High School (BHS) and College held at the sprawling lush green field amidst great mirth, verve and camaraderie, on Friday while St. Peter’s (Yellow) House was the runner up. The much sought after Cock House Shield was bagged by St. Andrew’s (Blue) House while St. Patrick’s (Green) House was the runner up. The fantastic turnout of parents and the pleasant weather were the perfect boost for the students on the sports day. Rt. Rev. Collin C Theodore, Moderator’s Episcopal Commissary, Diocese of Lucknow (CNI) was the chief guest. On his arrival, the chief guest was warmly received by the Principal, Mr. D. A. Luke and the Academic Supervisor, Mrs. C. B. Luke. The occasion was graced by the alumni, administrative officials and Principals of the prominent educational institutions.

The opening ceremony commenced with a prayer by Rev. G. Daud, Secretary, Allahabad High School Society (AHSS) followed by the welcome address by the Principal, Mr. D. A. Luke. In his brief address, threw light on the importance of games and sports and called upon the students to compete fearlessly with grit and determination. He said that gold medals are not made of gold, but they are made of sweat, determination and a hard to find alloy called guts.

The events began with a colourful March Past by the four Houses namely, St. Andrew’s House, St George’s House, St. Patrick’s House and St. Peter’s House. The marching contingent was led by Sports Captain, Utkarsh Kant. The Chief Guest took the salute of the March Past. On behalf of the competitors, the Sports Captain took the oath and solemnly pledged to uphold the spirit of true sportsmanship. The Chief Guest declared the sports meet open and then followed the breath-taking spectacle of the ceremonial lighting of the torch by a team of sportsmen who represented the state and brought laurels to the school. The torch bearers were Dipt Prakash (Swimming), Aditya Mukherjee (Badminton), Prakhar Singh (Basketball), Divyansh Tripathi, (Cricket), Harshit Nath (Zip Zap Zoom) and Sports Captain Utkarsh Kant (Football).

In a spectacular display in field and track events, St. George’s bagged the top honours with 562 points followed by St. Peter’s House 374, St. Andrew’s House 369 and St. Patrick’s House with 207 points for the second, third and fourth place respectively. The Individual Championship Cup went to Sanchit Upadhyaya (R) of `O’ Div, Harshit Nath (B) of `A’ Div., Arpit Kumar (Y) of `B’ Div., Anurag Singh (B) of `C’ Div. and Ayush Singh (G) of `D’ Div. In the Marching event, Red house bagged the first place in the senior category while Blue, Green and Red houses were placed in the second, third and fourth place. In the junior category, Red and Yellow both tied for the first place while the Green and Blue house were placed in the third and fourth places.
Next up was the PT display by the students of nursery and Prep titled “A Fruit Medley”. The little cherubians stormed into the field and awed the audience with their charismatic moves. This was followed by a drill “Pirate Ahoy” from classes 1 and 2 captivated the audience with their energetic dance movements. The formation of a rainbow in a PT display “Spectrum”, by students of classes 3 and 4 was a delight to watch. The theme of the drill was “save water, save environment” for the future. Next in line was the drill titled “Confluence” by class 5 and 6 in which the students not only beautifully depicted the sangam of three rivers but also how it is being exploited and how we can make it the lifeline of millions of people. The drill titled “Zumba” by the students of class 7 and 8 spread the message of the importance of healthy life. The “Kalinga War”, a PT display by the students of class 9 took us several centuries back when the Mauryan Empire in India was on the peak of its glory and power under the flagship of Samrat Ashok. The PT display beautifully depicted how the quell of Kalinga War changed the life of Samrat Ashok and he became a propagator of love, peace, tolerance and brotherhood.

Grit and determination to achieve victory for their House was the focal point of the athletes. As the races began, the air was filled with cheering and the tone of encouragement for the athletes to bring glory to their respective House. Colourful races titled `Butterfly and the flower’ by the tiny tots of nursery, `Monkey and the Banana’ by Prep students, `Planet Shakers’ by class 1, `Floral Magic’ by class 2 and `Watch your steps by class 3 were a treat to watch. The athletes with all their vigour and strength ran to bag the medals and points for their Houses.
The prizes were distributed by the Chief Guest, Rt. Rev. Collin C. Theodore, Moderator’s Episcopal Commissary, Diocese of Lucknow (CNI). The function came to a close with a vote of thanks by the Academic Supervisor, Mrs. C. B. Luke.

The results are as follows—100mt ‘O’ div: Sanchit Upadhyaya (R)-I, Utkarsh Srivastava (R)-II, Samad Ahmad (G)-III; 100mt ‘A’ div: Udbhav Chaudhary (Y)-l, Kushal Sahu (Y)-II, Faizan Khan (G)-III; 200mt ‘O’ div: Sanchit Upadhyaya (R)-I, Mohd Danish (R)-II, Kumar Uddeshya (G)-III; 200mt ‘A’ div: Harshit Nath (B)-I, Udbhav Chaudhari (Y)-II, Kushal Sahu (Y-III; 1500 mts Open: Shivam Srivastava (B)-I, Dipt Prakash (Y)-II, Mohd. Danish (R)-III; Long Jump ‘O’ div: Samad Ahmad (G)-I, Anush Dubey (Y)-II, Sanchit Upadhyay (R)-III; Long Jump ‘A’ div: Harshit Nath (B)-I, Udbhav Choudhary (Y)-II, Aman Singh (G)-III ; High Jump ‘O’ div: Raman Singh (R)-I, Kumar Uddyeshya (G)-II, Mohd. Azmal (G)-III; High Jump ‘A’ div: Udbhav Choudhary (Y)-I, Ayush Singh (R)-II, Obaid Khan (Y)-III; 4x100m Relay ‘O’ div: Blue House – I, Yellow House –II, Green House – III; 4x100m Relay ‘A’ div: Yellow House – I, Blue House –II, Green House – III; 4x100m Relay ‘B’ div: Red House – I, Blue House –II, Yellow House – III; Tug-o-war: Senior & Junior: St. George’s (Red) House; Cross Country Seniors: Utkarsh Singh (Y)-I, Tushar Kaushiley (Y)-II, Yash Pundhir (G)-III; Cross Country Juniors: Anurag Singh (B)-I, Rohit (R)-II, Arpit Kumar (G)-III.